Announcement from ABFER Senior Fellows

May 30, 2016

The following is an announcement from our ABFER Senior Fellow Professor Renee Adams (University of New South Wales and ABFER)

Call For Submissions

From CEO pay to Tennis prize money: Is it (just) about skill?

2nd Annual Financial Institutions, Regulation and Corporate Governance Conference January 28-30, 2017, Melbourne Business School
The University of Melbourne's Financial Institutions, Regulation and Corporate Governance research group at Melbourne Business School and the University of New South Wales’s Women in Leadership Research Network invite you to serve up your ideas and enjoy some summer warmth during the Australian Open, one of Australia's biggest and most-loved sporting events.
We are seeking submissions from top-seeded thought leaders in the global financial community to present at our conference in Melbourne on January 28-30, 2017. We are open to all topics in the area of financial institutions, regulation and corporate governance, but have a particular interest in papers related to the role of skill, promotion and pay in the corporate and sporting worlds and academia.


On January 29th Professor Francesca Cornelli from London Business School will give a keynote speech. On January 30th Professor Betsey Stevenson from the University of Michigan will lead a panel discussing the role of skill in industry and academia. To motivate our discussion of skill, registered conference participants before September 30th will be invited to attend the Australian Open’s Women’s Final on January 28th.

We are waiving registration fees for presenters and speakers and awarding prizes to the two most thought-provoking conference papers. Registered participants are invited to attend a Saturday conference wine reception, events at the Australian Open after the Saturday wine reception, and Sunday night dinner.

We look forward to meeting you in January.

Renée Adams (University of New South Wales) and Nadia Massoud (Melbourne Business School) 2017 FIRCG Conference Organising Committee


PROFESSOR FRANCESCA CORNELLI is Professor of Finance and Director of Private Equity at London Business School. Her research interests include corporate governance, private equity, privatisation, bankruptcy, initial public offerings and innovation policy. She has held positions, or taught, at Wharton, the Fuqua School of Business at Duke University, The London School of Economics, the Indian School of Business in Hyderabad and the New Economic School in Moscow. She is an editor of The Review of Financial Studies and of Private Equity Findings and a board member of AFFECT, the AFA’s newly established Academic Female Finance Committee.

PROFESSOR BETSEY STEVENSON is Associate Professor of Public Policy at the University of Michigan’s Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy. In 2013, she was appointed to President Obama’s Council of Economic Advisors. Stevenson has published widely in leading economics journals about the impact of public policies on the labor market, with a focus on women and families. She is a columnist for Bloomberg View, and a sometime commentator for Public Radio’s Marketplace program, and her thoughts on the economy are frequently covered in both print and television media.

PAPER SUBMISSION PROCEDURE: Please email your paper to by 1 August 2016. Each paper will be reviewed by two members of the conference scientific committee. Authors of accepted papers should be willing to discuss. The final program will be announced on 1 September 2016.

FURTHER INFORMATION: If you have any questions, please contact conference organiser Nadia Massoud, Ian Potter Professor of Finance, at or visit

Scientific Committee:

Margaret  Abernethy , University of Melbourne
Anat Admati, Stanford University
Ilona Babenko, Arizona State University
Marieke Bos, The Swedish House of Finance
Laura Bottazzi, Bocconi
Susan Christoffersen, University of Toronto
Claudia Custodio, NOVA School of Business and Economics, Lisbon
Diane Del Guercio, University of Oregon
Amy Dittmar, University of Michigan
Laura Field, University of Delaware
Mariassunta Giannetti, Stockholm School of Economics
Maria Guadalupe, INSEAD
Wei Jiang, Columbia University
Jennifer Juergens, Drexel University
Simi Kedia, Rutgers Business School
Yelena Larkin, York University
Kai Li, University of British Columbia
Angie Low , Nangyang Technological University
Michelle Lowry, Drexel Uniersity
Bernadette Minton, Ohio State University
Lalitha Naveen, Temple University
Alexandra Niessen-Ruenzi, University of Mannheim
Charlotte Østergaard, BI Oslo
Helen Popper, Santa Clara University, California
Manju Puri, Duke University
Meijun Qian, Australian National University
Wenlan Qian, National University of Singapore
Vanitha Ragunathan, University of Queensland
Clara Raposo, ISEG Lisbon
Elena Simintzi, UBC
Betty Simkins, Oklahoma State University
Laura Starks, University of Texas at Austin
Miriam Swartz-Ziv, Michigan State University
Karin Thorburn, NHH
Margarita Tsoutsoura, University of Chicago
Toni Whited, University of Michigan
Yupana Wiwattanakantang , National University of Singapore
Anne Wyatt, University of Queensland
Moqi Xu, LSE
Danielle Zhang, BI Oslo
Weina Zhang, National University of Singapore
Mengxin Zhao, University of Alberta

March 4, 2016

The following is an announcement from our ABFER Senior Fellow Professor Steve Davis (Chicago and ABFER)

Call for Papers: The Macroeconomics of Uncertainty & Volatility

We will be running a three-day conference on the macroeconomics of uncertainty and volatility, focused on recent research on measuring, exploring and identifying these, and their relationships to micro and aggregate activity.

The conference takes place at Stanford University from 1pm on Wednesday 7th September to 1pm on Friday 9th September 2016.

Funding to assist with presenters’ travel expenses will be provided and invited presenters will be notified of the amount at the time of acceptance. Presenters are expected to attend the full conference. If for any reason you cannot attend the full conference please note this in your submission.

Please submit by Monday May 2nd via

  • Choose ‘Create New Account’ under ‘User Login’ on the left menu.
  • Follow the instructions to create an account, choose a session, and submit a paper. You will receive an email confirmation when your submission has been received.

Nick Bloom (Stanford)
Steve Davis (Chicago)
Jesus Fernandez-Villaverde (Penn)

Past Events

Popular Searches

Asian Monetary Policy Forum 2015

3rd ABFER Annual Conference 2015

Join Our Mailing List