Specialty Conference


Call for Paper: ABFER, CEPR and CUHK Second Annual Symposium in Financial Economics

14 - 15 May 2020 • Shenzhen, China

Hosted by Chinese University of Hong Kong (Shenzhen), the Shenzhen Finance Institute & The Brevan Howard Centre, Imperial College Business School

Organisers: Franklin Allen, Sudipto Dasgupta and Tao Shu

Paper submissions in all areas of Finance are invited for this symposium. The symposium will take place on Thursday 14 May and Friday 15 May 2020, at the Shenzhen Finance Institute, Shenzhen, China.

One of the aims of this symposium is to bring together researchers from Europe and the Asia-Pacific interested in any area of financial economics. Both theoretical and empirical contributions are welcome.

For presenters based outside of Asia, we will reimburse up to US$1,500 economy airfare and 3 nights’ accommodation. For presenters based in Asia, we will be reimbursing economy airfare up to of US$500 and 3 nights’ accommodation.

Authors who are CEPR members can upload their submission on https://portal.cepr.org/abfer-cepr-and-cuhk-second-annual-symposium-financial-economics. If you do not currently have a CEPR profile, please create a new profile here https://portal.cepr.org/user/register and then click on the registration link above.

If you wish to attend please do ensure that your application and paper reach CEPR by 6pm GMT/UTC, Monday 13 January 2020.

Submissions will be reviewed by the Programme Committee and based on their recommendations, the organisers will notify applicants in February 2020 and the programme will be finalised by early March 2020.

If you have any difficulties submitting your paper or registering for this meeting, please contact Mandy Chan, Events Officer at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or +44 20 7183 8804.

Yours sincerely,

Franklin Allen (Imperial College London and CEPR)
Sudipto Dasgupta (Chinese University of Hong Kong and CEPR)
Tao Shu (Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen & Shenzhen Finance Institute)

Programme Committee:

Corporate Finance

Bo Becker (Stockholm School of Economics and CEPR)
Ling Cen (CUHK)
Amil Dasgupta (London School of Economics and CEPR)
Andrew Ellul (Indiana University and CEPR)
Daniel Ferreira (London School of Economics and CEPR)
Xavier Giroud (Columbia Business School and CEPR)
Mariassunta Giannetti (Stockholm School of Economics and CEPR)
Jun-Koo Kang (NTU)
Bart Lambrecht (Cambridge and CEPR)
Ron Masulis (UNSW)
Erwan Morellec (Swiss Finance Institute and CEPR)
Enrique Schroth (Cass Business School and CEPR)
Rik Sen (UNSW)
Cong Wang (CUHK Shenzhen)

Banking and Financial Intermediation

Sumit Agarwal (NUS)
Thorsten Beck (Cass School of Business and CEPR)
Sudheer Chava (Georgia Tech)
Chen Lin (HKU)
Hans Degryse (Catholic University of Leuven and CEPR)
Jie He (University of Georgia)
Vasso Ioannidou (Lancaster University and CEPR)
Steven Ongena (University of Zurich and CEPR)
Wenlan Qian (NUS)
Javier Suarez (CEMFI and CEPR)

Asset Pricing

Vikas Agarwal (Georgia State University)
Rui Albuquerque (Boston College and CEPR)
Utpal Bhattacharya (HKUST)
Ekkehart Boehmer (Singapore Management University)
Jay Cao (CUHK)
Stephen Dimmock (Nanyang Technological University)
Miguel Ferreira (Nova School of Business and Economics and CEPR)
Allaudeen Hameed (National University of Singapore)
Chuan Yang Hwang (Nanyang Technological University)
Marcin Kacperczyk (Imperial College and CEPR)
Alok Kumar (University of Miami)
Tse-Chun Lin (HKU)
Dong Lou (LSE and CEPR)
Abhiroop Mukherjee (HKUST)
Tarun Ramadorai (Imperial College and CEPR)
Dragon Tang (HKU)
David Thesmar (MIT and CEPR)
John Wei (Hong Kong Polytechnic University)
Bohui Zhang (CUHK Shenzhen)
Chu Zhang (HKUST)